Roots Manuva meets Wrong Tom »Duppy Writer«

posted on August 8th, 2010 by in Audio

© Tony McDermott

On Friday, Big Dada let go a first free download tune (»Butterfly Crab Walk«, listen and download below) from the upcoming Roots Manuva meets Wrong Tom LP »Duppy Writer«.

That LP is

actually a collection of reworks by Wrong Tom. The Staines-based DJ/producer, who has worked with Pama International, Trojan and, er, Hard Fi, contacted Big Dada to ask if he could fashion a dub version of Roots Manuva’s single »Buff Nuff«. Impressed with what he turned out, Big Dada commissioned a series of mixes which became the bonus disc on the limited edition version of Roots’ Slime & Reason LP.

Duppy Writer is an expanded version of that bonus disc, and is being released with new artwork from Tony McDermott. It covers not just tracks from Slime & Reason but all four of Roots Manuva’s main studio albums, as well as tracks from Dub Come Save Me and Alternately Deep. (via Fact Magazine)

There’s also a brand new collaboration between Roots Manuva and Ricky Ranking, »Jah Warriors«, which will be released as single.

This is the complete tracklist:

01. Butterfly Crab Walk
02. Chin Up
03. Duppy Writer (Skit)
04. Worl’ A Mine
05. Big Tings Redone
06. Jah Warriors
07. Proper Tings Juggled
08. Dutty Rut
09. Dub Decay
10. Lick Up Ya Foot
11. Rebuff
12. Son of Bodda
13. Motion 82

Roots Manuva meets Wrong Tom »Duppy Writer« is about to be released on September 9th.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Download Roots Manuva meets Wrong Tom »Butterfly Crab Walk«

Share your thoughts.